World Food Festival

This weekend is the annual World Food Festival in the east village here in Des Moines. I always look forward to this. Its a chance to showcase the many immigrant populations in the metro. Plus there is some damn good food. This year I made the rounds with my mom. They had a lot of Asian stands; Vietnamese, Laotian, Thai, and Filipino. Other stands were Indian, Bosnian, Greek, Ecuadorian, Salvadorian, and obviously Mexican. Plus some American stands serving bbq and cajun. 

 

For the not so adventurous there was even an Iowa Machine Shed booth. 

 

But the pinnacle of amazing food was the Ethiopian stand. Central Iowa needs an Ethiopian restaurant! I had a meal of atkilt. Its like a curry of cabbage, green beans, onions, and other unidentifiable of delicious veggies. But oh, the injera. Its what makes Ethiopian the number one cuisine in my book. Indian is great, but Ethiopian is like Indian, but with better bread. And thats saying a lot because Indian bread is amazing.

Enough chatter. Here’s some pictures.

Atkilt and injera

Bubble tea! Mango green tea, bubble tea to be exact. Chewy tapioca mango awesome to be precise.

Each stand had a $1 tasting sample. So I had to try the lentil soup from Saloo India’s stand. Terrible picture, good soup.

And finally here is a picture of Iowans enjoying some delicious food in view of the state capital building.

If you are in Des Moines this weekend try to check it out. Help support local businesses!

5 thoughts on “World Food Festival

  1. Thanks for writing about this! I had no idea the food festival was vegan friendly so when I saw this I had to go there last night and try the Ethiopian stuff and it was so good!

  2. That looks like a lot of fun. We have a couple of Ethiopian restaurants in Boston I keep meaning to try. My boyfriend and I have recently fallen in love with Tibetian food, which is my new favorite.

  3. As far as I know there is only one Ethiopian restaurant in Iowa and it is located in Iowa City. Maybe one day there will be one in Des Moines.

Leave a Reply

