Brownies

Despite the fact that I would rip the head off of anyone who tried to make me do sterotypical female chores circa the 1950’s, I do enjoy some of them. Today I washed dishes by hand, made the bed, and mixed up a batch of brownies for my sweetheart. Just because. But like I said, I find it relaxing and enjoyable. God help the poor soul who tries to make an independent woman do household duties in the same mindset of 60 years ago.

 

I don’t have my camera with me, but maybe sometime in the future I will post of a picture of these delightful brownies. Until then the recipe will have to do. Along with the knowledge that if I was left alone I would eat the entire batch.

Gooey fudgy brownies

 

    1 cup sugar (I used refined and demerera mixed)

    1 cup AP flour

    1 cup whole wheat flour

    2/3 cup dutch process cocoa powder

    1 teaspoon baking powder

    1/4 teaspoon salt

    1 banana, mashed

    1/2 cup canola oil

    1 cup soy milk

    1 teaspoon vanilla

    2 tbsp. maple syrup

    2 handfuls chocolate chips

 

Directions:

 

Mix wet and dry separately. Add wet to dry and mix to combine. Add chips, spread in a greased 9×13 pan. (a 9×9 would make a really thick gooey brownie)

Bake at 350′ for about 20-25 minutes. As soon as the edges are dry and the center is set they are done. Brownies are one of the wonderful treats that are better when underbaked.

One thought on “Brownies

  1. Your brownie recipe looks good. And I agree, some days I really enjoy tidying up or performing household tasks like dishes and baking.

Leave a Reply

