Usefulness

I have been eating, and baking, but not documenting. For this I apologize. As we speak I have apple pie bars sitting in the kitchen, but no camera to show them off. So instead I’ll share the recipe. It started off as a tester, but I was forced to change the recipe so drastically that I think it can be printed on its own. They are pretty healthy too since they use whole wheat. Well I’ve been telling myself they are healthy anyway. 

Reverse Apple Crisp

       These have a thick base and thin apple layer, which is how I like my apple crisp.

1/2 cup canola oil 
1/2 cup demerera sugar 
3 tablespoons maple syrup 
1 teaspoon  molasses 
1/4 cup soymilk

2 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour 
1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon 
1/4 teaspoon salt 
Fruit: 
3 medium apples, cored and thinly sliced or chopped
1 tablespoon cornstarch 
1/4 cup demerera sugar 
3 tablespoons soy milk 
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Fruit layer:

Combine all the fruit ingredients and cook, covered, until the syrup thickens and the apples are cooked through. 

Base Layer: 
Preheat oven to 350°F. 
Grease one 9×13 or two 8×8 pans.
In a bowl mix together the oil, sugar, maple syrup, molasses, and soymilk. 
Add the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and stir until crumbly.

Press the dough into the baking pan and top with the fruit mixture. 
Bake for 20 minutes or until the cookie base is firm and a gold color.

 

I’m currently counting down the days to my end of ‘bumdom’. I start school in a little over a month and then its back to the grind of papers, books, and the general use of my curvy canyoned brain for things other than cookies and quizzing myself on world geography. It will be nice to feel useful, or at least hopefully making myself more useful. Until then I will try to keep myself occupied with housework, books, and goodies. Which with Christmas coming up shouldn’t be too difficult if I can motivate myself.

Leave a Reply

