Soup Days

Thats it. I’m not allowed to go home anymore. It just ends badly. I eat too much, chew my nails, revert to bad habits, AND (the coup de grâce) I end up watching television with my mom because she misses me so much.

I need to get out and explore but I’ve walked this town so much there isn’t much left to find. So instead I stay home and accomplish nothing. Except food. Which leads me to dinner last night. Potato and olive soup. My mom actually was the one that found this recipe and wanted to try it. She copied it at work and brought it home saying “it’s vegan right, you can eat it?” Isn’t that sweet. So here is my personalized recipe.

Potato Olive Soup

Potato and Olive Soup

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 bay leaf

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. dried savory

5 cups water

1 pound red skin potatoes, cut into chunks

1 tsp. granulated garlic or 2 cloves fresh garlic, chopped

1/4 tsp. smoked paprika (optional)

Salt and pepper

3/4 c. whole green olives, pitted, coarsely chopped*

1 tbsp. white wine vinegar (optional)

 

In a large saucepan heat the olive oil. Add onion and saute until beginning to soften. Add bay leaf, thyme, and savory and cook for a few more minutes. Add potatoes, garlic, paprika, salt, pepper, and water. Cover and bring to boil. Lower heat and continue cooking until potatoes are done.

Mash potatoes in the pot with a masher or a large fork. It would work just as well to put it through the blender or a food mill, but I prefer my soup chunky (and I hate washing excess dishes). Add the olives and taste to adjust seasonings. Don’t scrimp on the pepper and this is where you add the vinegar if you want.

Let cook until it thickens up a bit. Or if you’re in a hurry make a cornstarch (or arrowroot) slurry and add that.

I don’t know if this is my favorite soup, but I liked it. Very interesting.

 

* I actually used a mix of olives from the olive bar at my grocery store. I liked the kalamatas in there. But make sure there are more green than black olives.

Leave a Reply

