Sla…cker

That’s right, I’m the slacker. Here’s why:

1. I spend the entire morning cramming two weeks worth of class for a quiz.

2. I have a project due next week that I haven’t even started.

3. I regularly coerce my love into thinking I don’t have anything important to do so we can play board games.

4. I still don’t have the book for one of my classes! And I should have already read the entire thing.

5. I haven’t washed my hair in about a week. Well that’s not so much a slacker thing as me just really liking the shampoo at my mom’s house.

 

But something I don’t slack about is dinner. And food in general. I will drag my feet and give every excuse to not read, but ask me to bake cookies and I’ll be rummaging in the cupboards for ingredients before you even finish the sentence. Hence, triple ginger scones. The recipe is based off of Isa’s bikram baking ginger chocolate scones from the VCTOTW blog of yesteryear. Even if you make these with the changes I made you still need to click on the link and read her commentary. Cause she’s hilarious and basically taught me how to cook from her cooking bibles. I know what you’re thinking – no I do not have a shrine to Isa and Terry. But I could, don’t give me ideas.

Triple Ginger Scones

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons baking powder

1 1/2 tablespoons ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch mace

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 1/4 cups non-dairy milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger

1/3 cup crystallized ginger

1/2 cup chocolate chips

demerera sugar for sprinkling on top.

Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Sift together the flour through the salt. In another bowl mix together the oil through the fresh ginger. Dump wet into the dry and mix it together until its almost to the point where you think its mixed. Stop about 20 seconds short of that. Now oil or parchment your pans (you should have taken them out of the bottom of the gas oven so they aren’t scorching hot. Or is this just my oven?). Toss the candied ginger and the chocolate in and moosh together until its distributed, but you don’t want to mix it all willy nilly. That’s already done. Grease a 1/4 measuring cup and plop batter on the sheets. Sprinkle with sugar and put in the oven for, oh I don’t know, 15-ish. Until they’re done (that’s golden brown on the bottom)

Triple Ginger Scones

One thought on “Sla…cker

  1. Aww I’m seriously slacking on my blog at the moment, I have sooo much uni work to do too! Gotta take some pics and get a post done today hehe

Leave a Reply

