Skhug

I know I’ve mentioned before that I really like my job, but just to reiterate. I really like my job. Today I talked with this great Jewish guy about how much we love Middle Eastern food. The conversation started when I commended him for buying zatar, alternately spelled za’atar – one of the greatest spice blends ever conceived. 

The great thing about our store is when we start these conversations they continue for a while. We started talking about other great food. Your basic lovely pita, hummus, falafel, etc. Then he wondered if I liked spicy. I don’t mind heat, but I would like to taste my food as well. But I told him my boyfriend loves it. Apparently down at Maccabee’s Deli (on Polk in Des Moines) they make a spicy sauce of chiles, cilantro, garlic, and other stuff. 

I don’t know if you know, but I detest cilantro. I’m of of the few, the proud, to whom it tastes like soap. Again, my lover will eat as much of it that you set in front of him. So now I’m on a mission to either make it down to Maccabee’s or make my own skhug as I found out its called.

I also think I would like to move away from my typical Indian dinners into unknown territory. Like Middle Eastern/North African/Moroccan fare. Which means more visits to the Pammel Grocery.

Leave a Reply

