Modifying is kind of like Inventing

I am in love with tempeh once again. I tried it once when I first went vegan and did not love it. I don’t remember exactly what I made with it (probably soup since I was broke and you can get a lot of food out of soup) but I was not in love. I have since amended that opinion. Nick made pasta one night with tempeh crumbled in and hey, not bad.

Then a few nights ago we made sushi with tempeh. Once again, pretty good. But I am in love with tempeh after the gingered tempeh pasta salad at our coop. When we bought some I made sure to save the lid to try to figure out my own recipe. Well there are easier ways – like the internet. So I looked up the recipe changed it to make a hot pasta sauce and voilá.

Ginger Tempeh Sauce

2 tbsp. tamari
1/3 c. peanut butter
1/2 t. crushed red pepper
1/4 c. lemon juice
1 tsp. sumac
1/4 c. fresh ginger – finely chopped
1/2 c. water
1/2 block of tempeh – lightly simmered and mashed (ours had venenaise in it from sushi)

Heat in saucepan until homogenized
Serve on top of linguine, rotini, rice noodles, eat with a spoon. Doesn’t matter. I also threw in some steamed broccoli and zucchini so I could feel better. I like green things.

Leave a Reply

