Not Baking

So yesterday (Sunday) we had a PPK vegan potluck. We gorged ourselves and had a good time but for me the stand out were the no-bake cookies that lindsayh brought. There was a ton of food and it was all amazing, but for some reason these simple cookies were amazing. She had used this recipe as a template subbing oatmeal for the bran. 

I simply had to make these. So today I walked down to the Pammel Grocery. Alas, you have to spend 8 dollars if you have a debit/credit card which I was forced to use since I was seventy five cents short. So I ran around the store getting snacks (khatta meetha), black salt, and coconut – which I went to get in the first place. 

Now home I made no-bake cookies with barely a recipe in sight. But here’s a rough idea.

-6 ounces pitted, chopped dates (I used the mash of dates from the Pammel)

-1/4 cup peanut butter (or any nut butter)

-1 tsp. vanilla

-roughly 2 tbsp water or enough to get things to whir.

-2 1/2 tbsp. dutch cocoa

-1 1/4 cup oatmeal

-1 cup coconut

Mix up the dates through the cocoa in a food processor until smooth. Add coconut and oatmeal and continue to mix until everything is homogenous. 

Mix into balls or pack into a container (the lazy way – which I used) to make bars.

Ta-da!

Leave a Reply

