Vegan MoFo #1

I was all prepared for today. We started a list of recipes to try, I got out my camera, inventoried ingredients, and then it all sort of went down the drain. More like into the gutter. I had my first ever bike related accident today. I’ve been pretty lucky so far and in the almost-year I’ve been riding I haven’t incurred any injuries. But today on my way to class I collided with another cyclist who was traveling the opposite direction in the wrong lane. Let me reiterate – bicycles follow the same laws as cars. That yellow line in the road still exists and should be observed. But it wasn’t and I’m now bruised, sore, and annoyed about that. While at the same time feeling really bad that I wrecked my sweetheart’s bicycle. I know he’s concerned about me first and foremost, but I can’t help but feel guilty.

Enough about that. I still cooked and it was still tasty. I even took a picture though it might have to wait for tomorrow to be posted because I have to study. Suffice it to say I made ‘beans and grain’. I couldn’t decide what cuisine to make that fit into so instead I made “fusion” food. So I give you…Dirty Couscous.

Dirty Couscous

Dirty Couscous?

2 tbsp. oil

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

2 medium carrots, chopped

1/2 c. mushrooms, chopped

2 c. kidney beans, rinsed and drained

2 c. white Northern beans, rinsed and drained

2 c. chopped kale or other green

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. ground coriander

1/2 tsp. ground mustard

1 tsp. sumac – optional

1/2 tsp. ground chipotle pepper

1 1/2 c. water

1/4 c. tomato juice

salt and pepper

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Saute the onion, pepper, carrots, and mushrooms. When onion is translucent and the bottom of the pan is beginning to brown add the kale and stir until wilted. Add the beans, spices, and water. Use a wooden spoon to break some of the beans against the side of the pot. This will make everything into a gravy/stew that is perfect for soaking up with grain of choice. Lower heat and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. After that time add the tomato juice and simmer for another 10 minutes or until everything is cooked and the broth is thick.

Since we ran out of rice last night I cooked the rest of our Israeli couscous and when it was done cooking combined it with the cup of leftover rice from the fridge to create ricecous. It soaked up the bean juice well and thats all I can ask for. This was perfect after a rainy, slightly miserable day.

Pictures to come later.

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #1

  1. I am so sorry about your accident. I live in a town where most cyclists don’t follow any laws and it can be pretty dangerous to ride a bike sometimes. I wonder why people can’t follow rules it it prevents injuries and accidents.

  2. Sorry to hear about the accident. I get so annoyed when I see cyclists not following the rules of the road. Usually because they are endangering a lot of people. Take for instance many of them who behave like pedestrians, pedestrians who do not look both ways before crossing the street. They just act like they always have the right of way. I forget who might have said it originally but I’ve always liked ” ‘I had the right of way’ will look great on your tombstone.”
    Ok, sorry, rant over.

Leave a Reply

