Secret Soup

Remember not too long ago when I mentioned specialties? Well my beloved made his tonight. It was pretty gray today, though dry, and with a chill in the air and all the windows closed we decided soup sounded just lovely. I have no idea how he came up with this recipe, but it works. He fed it to me the first time I came over (the same time I brought the vagina cookies) and we played legos and built vehicles that we raced across the kitchen floor. I recall a houseboat modeled after Apocalypse Now. I was in love. Well I wasn’t really but I knew I liked him a whole lot. So every time we have this I’m reminded of that first evening. He was gracious enough to type up the recipe so here you are along with a picture. Like many soups it doesn’t photograph extremely well, but its good. We eat it with extra tamari poured on like salt at the table (and I tried a bit of green curry paste tonight which was great).

Nick’s Soup Recipe

3 cloves of garlic

1 tbs of minced ginger

1 onion

3-4 carrots

3-4 potatoes

3 broccoli stalks with no florets

1/4 cup rice

1/2 tsp curry

olive oil

1 can of coconut milk

1/2 cup of oatmeal

2tsp miso soup

soy sauce

salt

ground pepper

Mince garlic and ginger, dice onion. Add olive oil to pot until the bottom is completely covered. Put on medium heat and add ginger, garlic, and onion. Cook until they are golden brown and just starting to stick to the bottom of the pot. Fill halfway with water and add carrots, potatoes, broccoli stalks, rice, curry, salt and pepper. Let simmer 30-45 minutes, or until the broccoli is soft. Add just enough water at intervals to keep the veggies covered, but not enough to make the soup watery.Turn heat to low and add coconut milk, soy sauce, miso, and oatmeal. Soup should be rather thick, but if it’s watery add more oatmeal. Allow to simmer another 15-20 minutes.

These are some of the carrots from our garden. I didn’t think we had a HUGE success with our garden this year, we got lots of lettuce and some nice cherry tomatoes and peas but not a lot of much else. Until now. These carrots are great. They’re chubby little guys that are beautiful and delicious. Squat is maybe the perfect word for them. The one below was my favorite.

Leave a Reply

