New and Old Survey

I was all set to fill out the obligatory Vegan MoFo survey. Since a year has passed I had no idea that this was the same one from last year. I know this because while looking for something else I found my survey from last year. The hilarious thing is, comparing the two makes it look like I have very set in my ways. I really like the one from last year so I’m going to post it again along with the answers from this year that I filled out before this epiphany. My answer for this year is the second answer.

1. Favorite non-dairy milk?
Vanilla Soy Dream.

Organic Valley Soy (original). What I really love about this one is that even if its a national brand a lot of the soybeans are grown here in Iowa. In fact, the name of the guy on the side of the carton seemed familiar and my parents know him and his family.

2. What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook?
Sometime in the next few weeks, pumpkin baked ziti (VCon), hypnosis cookie testers (for my dad), and green tomato cake.

We have a dry erase board with my ideas and still on the list is cheesecake, mango lassis, and mac ‘n’ cheese.

3. Topping of choice for popcorn?
Melted EB, Turkish seasoning, and nooch

EB, salt, and maybe a little bit of Turkish seasoning.

4. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure?
As a vegan I’d say an almond meal cookie tester. Those things did not work for me. And I made a soup once with red cabbage that had waaay too much salt in it.

Look back a few posts. I think the eel sauce turned tamari caramel was the worst.

5. Favorite pickled item?
Can I cheat and say cucumber pickles? Dill, refrigerator, sweet, garlic, doesn’t matter. Oh wait no, pickled ginger. Hands down.

I have a deep seated love for ‘pickles’ as in cucumber pickles. Especially with horseradish.

6. How do you organize your recipes?
HA! Organize? I have cookbooks strewn all over along with recipes written on scraps of paper. I also have an entire folder on my computer of random recipes that will probably never get made.

On my macbook I have a folder of go-to recipes. At home I have cookbooks and a dry erase board.

7. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal?
Trash at home, compost at Nick’s. My mom won’t let me build a compost bin. It sounds like I’m 16.

Compost. (Note: I now live with Nick)

8. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)?
Potatoes, coffee, and tofu.

Sweet potatoes (I decided this would replace squash and potatoes), nutritional yeast, and tofu.

9. Fondest food memory from your childhood?
Making Norwegian Christmas cookies every year. Krumkake, kringla, rosette’s, and loads of lefse.

Making Christmas cookies and lefse with the ladies of my family.

10. Favorite vegan ice cream?
Rice Dream Carrot Cake.

Ciao Bella Coconut Sorbet

11. Most loved kitchen appliance?
Marta, my Kitchenaid artisan stand mixer. But my blender is closing on, it might get a name soon.

Kitchenaid stand mixer – its technically my mom’s but nothing beats it for frosting. She even has a name, Marta.

12. Spice/herb you would die without?
Salt isn’t a spice so I will go with cumin or cinnamon.

Really? I work in a spice store, I cannot pick one. Salt is out since its not a spice or an herb, thank god I don’t have to make that decision. Do I go sweet or savory? I’m going to have to say cinnamon.

13. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time?
Pregan: Betty Crocker’s Cookbook circa 1975. Vegan: Vegan Planet, which I’m just now starting to cook out of.

Betty Crocker’s Cookbook printed in the 1970’s. It was my mom’s but I commandeered it.

14. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly?
Apple butter or ginger preserves.

Cherry

15. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend?
Cookies or VCon lasagne

Chili or lasagne

16. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh?
They all have their place but for sheer versatility I’m going with tofu.

Tofu. My beloved’s tofu scramble is one of my favorite foods.

17. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)?
Breakfast. Fo’ sho. It involves coffee and all manner of sweets. Plus it has lots of fond memories.

I like baking, but since its not a meal I’ll say dinner.

18. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator?
A basket full of receipts. And a box of coffee that appeared from my mom.

Let’s see, a bottle of roommate’s booze, the “breakfast box” which is a valentine’s container we now use for muffins and cookies, and some protein powders for my endurance racing bedmate..

19. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking.
Frozen bananas, carrot sunshine muffins, tofu.

Blueberries, corn, old sour cream containers that are filled with compost that needs to be taken to the backyard.

20. What’s on your grocery list?
Oatmeal, greens, peanut butter.

Boca soy crumbles, peanut butter, fruit, saltine crackers

21. Favorite grocery store?
New Pioneer Co-op and Oneota Co-op. But since they are both at least two hours away I’m going with Wheatsfield Co-op. And HyVee if I’m not in a college town.

Wheatsfield Coop, my favorite store in town.

22. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet.
Any and all of my families Norwegian recipes. But mostly my grandma’s meatballs.

My grandma’s recipes for lefse (easy) and krumkake (very difficult)

23. Food blog you read the most (besides Isa’s because I know you check it everyday). Or maybe the top 3?
FatFree Vegan, The Conscious Kitchen, Vegan Dad

Vegan Dad, Fat Free Vegan, Bittersweet, David Lebowitz

24. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate?
Crystallized ginger. Or anything containing crystallized ginger.

I treat marshmallows as candy so I’ll go with Sweet & Sara’s.

25. Most extravagant food item purchased lately?
Maple syrup.

I don’t make many extravagant purchases. Probably the nice mushrooms for dinner tonight. Or maple syrup.

Apparently #26 either wasn’t there last year or I cut it off. So for ingredients I’m scared to work with, until a few days ago it was jackfruit, but I’m conquered that mountain. Now I’ll try to work up the guts to try fermented tofu.

Leave a Reply

